The Definitive Index To Bob Sterne’s HAM Technical Articles

Since June 2018, HAM Technical Editor Bob Sterne has been writing his thought-provoking monthly HAM technical articles. Although Bob expects to contribute more pieces in future, these will be on an “as and when” basis. The regular series is now formally concluded.

Thank you Bob!

So. it’s obviously the right time to provide a definitive index to this substantial body of knowledge for serious airgun enthusiasts everywhere and.

As the stories are spread over two years of publication, this post brings together an index of Bob’s HAM technical articles, together with their titles. You can also find them in an online index of “Airgun Technical” posts that’s accessed from the HAM Home Page, like this…

Now It’s Easy To Find Bob Sterne’s Airgun Technical Posts

I hope that this will make this important body of material easier to find and encourage you to read it again. Bob writes well, but, let’s face it, some of this stuff is really, really technical – I read it several times myself to make sure I understand 🙂

Here they are, from the beginning…


PCP Airgun Design

How PCP Airguns Work. June, 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/buyers-guides/airgun-buyers-guides/ham-airgun-technical-how-pcp-airguns-work/

How To Obtain The maximum Power From A PCP Air Rifle, July 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/how-to-obtain-the-maximum-power-from-a-pcp-air-rifle/

Understanding PCP Airgun Power Factors, August 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/understanding-pcp-airgun-power-factors/

The Effect Of Port Sizes on PCP Airgun Power, September 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/the-effect-of-port-sizes-on-pcp-airgun-power/

Using Hammer Strike To Control PCP Power, October 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/using-hammer-strike-to-control-pcp-power/

Conserving Air In PCPs – Hammer Bounce And The SSG (Stopping Spring Guide), November 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/conserving-air-in-pcps-hammer-bounce-and-the-ssg/

Balanced Valves For PCP Airguns. They’re Here Today! December 2018. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/balanced-valves-for-pcp-airguns-theyre-here-today/


PCP Tuning

Bob’s Guide To Tuning Unregulated PCPs, January 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/bobs-guide-to-tuning-unregulated-pcps/

An Introduction To The PCP Regulator. Don’t Ignore The Plenum! February 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/introduction-to-the-pcp-regulator-dont-ignore-the-plenum/

Tuning Regulated PCP Airguns, March 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/tuning-regulated-pcp-airguns/

PCP Efficiency – What Is It? What Changes It? April 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/pcp-efficiency-what-is-it-what-changes-it/


Ballistics, Pellets And Slugs

PCP Airgun Internal Ballistics, May 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/pcp-airgun-internal-ballistics/

The External Ballistics Of Diabolo Pellets, June 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/the-external-ballistics-of-diabolo-pellets/

The External Ballistics Of Slugs In Airguns, July 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/the-external-ballistics-of-slugs-in-airguns/

Wind Drift For Airguns – It’s Important Where The Wind Is! August 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/wind-drift-for-airguns-its-important-where-the-wind-is/

Vertical Deflection For Pellets In Crosswind, September 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/vertical-deflection-for-pellets-in-crosswind/

Pellet And Slug Stability, October 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/pellet-and-slug-stability/

Pellet Twist Rate And Stability, November 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/pellet-twist-rate-and-stability/

Drag Coefficients And Ballistics Coefficient Explained, December 2019. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/pellet-twist-rate-and-stability/

The Future Of Airgun Ballistics Coefficients, January 2020. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/the-future-of-airgun-ballistics-coefficients/

How Important Is Extreme Spread To Accuracy? February 2020. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/how-important-is-extreme-spread-to-accuracy/

Airgun Pellet Penetration – The Real Story, March 2020. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/airgun-pellet-penetration-the-real-story/

The Effect Of Caliber On Airgun Pellet Performance, April 2020. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/the-effect-of-caliber-on-airgun-pellet-performance/

Airgun Slug Penetration Compared To Pellets, May 2020. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/airgun-slug-penetration-compared-to-pellets/

Hollowpoint Slug Design, June 2020. https://hardairmagazine.com/ham-columns/bob-sterne-discusses-hollowpoint-slug-design/


Thanks again to Bob!!!